The third day of the new year was Warwick Castle and
Stratford-On-Avon. Such a wonderful, but
tiring day.
Warwick Castle was neat!
Becca, I think you’ll flip out to know that I believe some of Merlin is
filmed there. Neat, huh? Anyway, not only was it a medieval castle,
but later on the early 20th century, it was a house for the Duchess
of Warwick, otherwise known as Daisy, from “Daisy, Daisy, give me your answer,
do.” Cool, huh?
Once again, Madame Tussaud’s work was everywhere, both in
the mediaeval part of the castle and in the Edwardian part. It was fun to look at, and at one point,
there was this was figure of a porter that scared the pants off of me, ‘cause I
thought it was real, but on the whole, it was rather Disney-fied, which isn’t a
bad thing. I just prefer my castles
straight, if you know what I mean. Give
me four walls and old stone, my imagination will do the rest.
We did get to see a really wonderful show on owls,
though! I we got to see Ernie, an Eagle
Owl, and Oscar, a Barn Owl. Ernie was
big and powerful, and so amazing to see fly.
Oscar was so pretty, but he was younger than Ernie, so he misbehaved
sometimes. Not to mention the fact that
it was rainy and windy, and Oscar was having a lot of trouble keeping upright
in the wind.
After that I went to get tea, ‘cause I knew that we weren’t
going to have a change to eat any lunch.
I had my first taste of clotted cream, and it was good! Tasted a bit like butter, only slightly
sweeter. I liked it a lot!!
After that, it was off to Anne Hathaway’s house and
Stratford! Anne Hathaway’s house was
fun, and very very small. I saw a chair
that the family said Shakespeare use to sit in when he came a’courting. I got to go inside of Holy Trinity Church and
see the grave of Shakespeare, but, unfortunately, we didn’t have a lot of time
to sit and revel in the memory of him, it was back on the bus to Shakespeare’s
Birthplace. That was great! I got to walk on the floor where he walked
and through the rooms where he grew up!
It was great fun! But by this
time, we were all exhausted, having gotten up at early and been going all day
long. My stalwart friends and I decided
to go to a pub, The Dirty Duck to be precise, (though it was first known as the
Black Swan) and take a load off. I
finally had fish and chips! Hand-fried
Halbot. YUM! It was so GOOD! DROOL!
I also had some local ale, Abbot’s Ale.
It packed a punch, let me tell you!
We sat there and whiled the hours away until it was time for the Royal
Shakespeare Company’s production of Measure for Measure!
What a disappointment.
I’m completely serious. No fault
of the actors, though. Entirely the
director’s fault. It was a
post-apocalyptic setting.
Post-apocalyptic. Measure for
Measure. WHAT?!? Awful awful awful. Then the costuming was ridiculous! The duke had this stupid brown corset on that
looked like something from Elmer Fudd’s closet of shame! Ugh.
Then the whores! They
were all BDSM. Leather and spikes. Very racy and pushing the envelope in what is
socially acceptable to see onstage.
Unfortunately, they pushed the envelope in the wrong direction, because
in the scene where Angelo propositions Isabella was so weak! There was no tension! I didn’t see Isabella’s horror, because
Angelo didn’t do anything terrible! He
was acting like a douchebag, but he never laid a hand on her, so it seemed like
her terrible horrified reaction came out of nowhere. That was sort of a theme in the play though,
because when The Duke proposed to Isabella that too came out of nowhere!! There was no moment of tenderness, no inkling
that they even liked each other! The
only clue we got was the first meeting that the Duke and Isabella had, and when
he exited, he made it very clear that he lusted after her, but love? It never came into play.
I have much more criticism, but this entry is long
enough. Suffice it to say, my first RSC
production was a disappointment. The
delivery of lines and acting was impeccable.
I found no fault in that. It was
the director who mucked it all up.
So today is January 4, and I’ve finally caught up with all
my journals! It’s taken me awhile, but
I’ve done it!! Huzzah!!
The Dirty Duck is a good pub.
ReplyDelete